College of Fishery Science, Muthukur

Associate Dean (FAC)
Dr.P.Hari Babu Phone
: +91 9701620777
: +91 9849595355
: +91 0861-2377579
: cfsc_muthukur[at]rediffmail[dot]com

The College of Fishery Science, Muthukur, the only one of its kind in Andhra Pradesh, was established on 31st August 1991 as a constituent College of the then Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University (renamed as Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University), Hyderabad. It has become a constituent college of Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University (SVVU), Tirupati from 1st April 2006.

The College started functioning from 1st September 1992 in the premises of the Agricultural Research Station, ANGRAU, Nellore and on 1st November 1994 the College was shifted to its own campus at Muthukur village along the Nellore Krishnapatnam Port road. The College has been accredited to the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, with effect from 14th August 2001.

The college was established on sixteen acres of Government land in Muthukur Panchayat, joining Muthukur Tank.

A Wet Laboratory Building with an area of 150 sq.m was constructed for research purpose. The wet laboratory was integrated with Chinese type hatchery to breed the fishes and larval rearing facilities of fresh water prawn hatchery. In addition, nursery facility with eight cement tanks and two earthen grow out ponds were constructed to rear fish and prawns and to conduct practicals to the students. These facilities can also be utilized to conducted research projects. The Aquatic Animal Health Management Unit with PCR lab is established to train up the students in the field of Aquatic Animal Health, so as to cater to needs of aqua industry.

The College is provided with 16.6 ha. of fresh water farm at Eguvamitta (Epur) and two earthen grow out ponds with a total area of one acre in the College premises in order to develop farm ponds facilities to demonstrate and conduct experiments on fresh water fish and prawn culture.

The College campus comprises of the main building (comprising the Principal's Office, Library, Committee Hall, Seminar Hall, 4 Class rooms, 5 laboratories and 8 staff rooms) , boys and girls hostels, teaching and non-teaching quarters, swimming pool complex, play grounds, wet lab cum hatchery complex, RCC nursery, fresh & brackish water farms, central instrumentation laboratory with instruments like AAS, GC, and HPLC, Fish Processing Hall, Fishery Engineering laboratory , four modern class rooms and Aquatic Animal Health Management unit.

The College offers a four year (8 semesters) professional degree programme, Bachelor of Fishery Science, in a residential mode. Revised Course Curriculum for B.F.Sc is being implemented from the year 1997-98 onwards .During 2008, syllabus was revised as per IV Deans' Committee recommendations that contain 53 courses, 179 practical credits and Experiential Learning Programme. The B.F.Sc course curriculum and syllabus has been revised in the year 1997-98, subsequently in 2002-03 and 2008-09.

The college also offers a two year P.G Programme i.e. Master of Fishery Science (M.F.Sc) in Aquaculture and in fish porcessing technology from 2005-06 academic year on wards.